AAC in the Classroom

If you follow my other blog you may have already heard about how much I love our co-op.  I feel really blessed to be a part of a community of homeschooling families that is interested in learning more about my daughter’s communication challenges and are excited to do activities with AAC.

This year my seven year old AAC-using daughter has been with the k-2nd grade group at our weekly homeschool enrichment program.  We start our day in class creating some sentences with low tech AAC boards that I have provided to the students.  This semester we are working on predictable chart writing with specific words/phrases of the week that go along with my daughter’s core word of the week that we are emphasizing.  The students  have access to a core board, as well as my daughter’s QWERTY, and first descriptions and actions pages to create their sentences.  I then take their sentences to make a book that my daughter and I use in conjunction with other books that highlight the core word during the following week.

This has gone far better than I could have expected!  Today is just our second day of creating sentences with our core word of the week – and my daughter was watching all the other students model their phrases at the board.  When one of the students asked me where “go” was – Grace showed him before I could get even get to the board!!! 🙂  Then later when one of the students modeled “I want to look.”  Grace went up to the board and hit “where?” 🙂

Yay!  I really love this group and these kids!

DSCN3857DSCN3856

 

Leave a comment